ServicesPower CutsHelp


Follow us

Twitter Icon Facebook Iconfbmessanger

Instagram Icon linkedIn Icon YouTube Icon

UK Power Networks named Utility of the Year

UK Power Networks has won a second Utility of the Year award.

From Press releases - 16 June 2017 12:00 AM

Award win.jpg

The company made industry history by becoming the first company to win Utility of the Year two years running at the Utility Week Achievement Awards in London in December.

In St. George's Park last night, that award became a double when it was also named Utility of the Year at the National Skills Academy People in Power Awards for the way it develops its workforce and invests in skills.

The award recognises the work of 6,000 employees at the country’s biggest electricity distributor, who make sure the lights stay on for more than eight million homes and businesses.

Chris Degg, Director of Human Resources at UK Power Networks, said: “We are delighted to have won the Utility of the Year award. The past year has been a year of great achievement for UK Power Networks with improved reliability of power supplies, customer satisfaction, staff engagement and development, and a strong financial performance.
“None of this success would have been possible without dedicated and committed staff and it is clear that our investment in our people has paid dividends, through development and training programmes, and our focus on recruiting the best and brightest.”

The electricity distributor’s investment in its people has also been acknowledged with other awards, including UK Power Networks being the first electricity distributor to be named in the Sunday Times’ Top 30 Best Companies to Work For. Last week the company received a second Gold Award from Investors in People (IiP).

The People in Power Awards celebrate the talent that exists within the Power Sector and recognises companies who are investing in skills and significantly benefitting the industry.

UK Power Networks was a finalist in two other categories this year for Training Provider of the Year and the award for Achievement in Supply Chain Excellence.